Headphone

Sennheiser HD598

I’ve recently just became a new owner of this sexy thing!
The Sennheiser HD598 is my first high-end open circumaural (full size) audiophile headphones. Out of the box, i’m really impressed on how this thing performs. I’m not sure if I still have to break them in but, currently, i’m enjoying my music collection as if i’ve never heard them before.

HD598

Even though they work and sound good without an amp on an iPhone/iPod/iTouch, they truly shines and comes alive with one.

Sennheiser brand

Initially, I didn’t like the color. but after seeing it, holding and testing it out, I quickly changed my mind. although the cream/brown color and wood grain details that they added in still reminds me of an interior of a luxury car.

HD598 headband

Headband is padded and also is wrapped with leather while the earcups has soft velour which makes them light and really comfortable to wear.

earcups

Like what I said earlier, this cans are open meaning they will leak sound out and any ambient sound will leak in. Not really useful in an outside environment where its noisy as you would need to crank the volume up to drown the ambient sound. Loving the open-back though as it give a spacious wide soundstage.

Sennheiser HD598

In closing, I do think its an excellent audiophile headphone to own. Might not be for everyone as it will depend on of what kind of headphones you’re looking for or type of music you listen to. But I think its worth checking out and give it a try if ever you get a chance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment